Illinois law requires you to file your Workers’ Compensation case within 3 years of the date of accident.
This time limit may be extended two years from the last time the Workers’ Compensation insurance carrier or your employer pays you benefits or pays for your medical benefits.
You most likely will not want to wait until the last moment to file your application with the State of Illinois.
Do not confuse reporting your injury to your employer or your insurance company with filing an application of claim.
It is not good enough to tell your employer that you were injured on the job.
Filing an application of claim protects your rights to medical benefits, off work pay, and the settlement.
You also need an application of claim on file to be able to proceed with a hearing before an Illinois Work Comp Arbitrator.
Illinois Work Comp law can become very confusing.
An experienced Illinois Workers’ Compensation Attorney can help guide you through the complex law and rules.
No upfront fees to a lawyer are required. You only pay 20 percent for fees when you recover money.
Questions about your Work Injury? Feel free to contact Illinois Workers’ Compensation Attorney Dirk May at 309-827-4371.