Too many people think that their injury is not bad and that they will not need to file either a work comp claim or injury claim against the insurance company.
The problem is that it is usually too late to change your mind if the injury becomes worse or there are costly medical tests or treatment required.
A few simple steps will protect any potential Illinois Workers’ Compensation claim or injury case you may have.
Report your injury immediately and make a written report.
Make copies of all your reports.
Go to the doctor right away.
Tell the doctor how the injury happened, where it happened, and all the body parts involved.
These straight forward, truthful actions will preserve any future claim you may have.
If your injury worsens, a written injury report at the time of the accident proves where it happened and what happened.
The doctor’s records are evidence of the need for medical treatment and what body parts were injured.
Many injury cases are lost at the initial stage of the accident.
Delay in reporting and seeking medical treatment gives the insurance company the opportunity to plant doubt in the Judge’s mind.
Protect your injury case. Feel free to contact Illinois Work Comp and Injury lawyer Dirk May at 309-827-4371.
What is the best advice I can give anyone who has been injured at work or in a motor vehicle collision?
Tell your doctor immediately how you were injured and all the body parts that were injured.
For instance, tell the doctor “I was lifting a 50 pound box of parts when I turned and twisted. I felt my back pop and there was pain right away. The pain runs down my right leg.”
Make sure you tell all your medical providers the same thing each time.
This means doctors, nurses, and physicians assistants.
An immediate, clear, consistent explanation of injury will make your injury case go smoothly and increase its value.
Questions about your injury case? Feel free to contact Illinois injury lawyer Dirk May at 309-827-4371.
FARMER CITY — An Illinois State trooper has been airlifted to a Champaign hospital following a two-vehicle crash near Farmer City.
Source: State trooper injured in I-74 crash near Farmer City | Local News | pantagraph.com
Be safe out there. Prayers with the trooper and family. In Illinois the trooper may sue for workers’ compensation benefits and may also sue the at fault driver.
Injured workers in Illinois are entitled to 3 rights.
- Payment of medical bills for related treatment.
- 66 percent of your average weekly wage for the time your doctor has you off work.
- 60 percent of your average weekly wage for the value of your permanent partial disability, this is often referred to as the settlement.
There is no pain and suffering damages for workers’ compensation in Illinois.
There is no schedule of benefits for certain types of injuries; some states mandate payment of a certain amount of money for a broken leg, for instance. Illinois does not do this.
An example is that a herniated disc in the lumbar spine, without surgery, may be worth 10 percent of a person.
The Illinois Workers’ Compensation Act says your back is worth a total of 500 weeks. 10 percent equals 50 weeks.
Assume a person earned $500.00 a week for the 52 weeks before they were injured. 60 percent of $500 equals $300.
50 weeks times $300 equals $15,000.
As you can see the value of your settlement will vary dramatically based on your wage.
There is also a minimum and maximum rate used in calculating your permanency rate.
Questions about your Work Comp injury? Feel free to contact Illinois Workers’ Compensation Attorney Dirk May at 309-827-4371.
Keep this list in your wallet so that you have it ready for yourself or a co-worker or friend in case of injury.
- Go to the doctor immediately.
- Complete an accident report as soon as possible. Keep a copy for yourself.
- Tell your supervisor about the accident.
- Tell the doctor about every body part that you injured.
- Tell the doctor how you were injured at work.
Following these simple steps will strengthen your work injury case and keep the insurance company from denying your benefits.
If the Workers’ Compensation insurance company wants to take a statement from you regarding the accident, call a Work Comp lawyer right away. The insurance company can use any statement you make against your interest.
Questions about your work injury case? Feel free to contact Illinois Workers’ Compensation Attorney Dirk May at 309-827-4371.