Illinois Workers’ Compensation law provides that the insurance company must pay for related medical treatment. This would include rehabilitation treatment.
You do not want to tank your work injury or motor vehicle injury case with your own thoughtless acts.
Do not follow the example of the person who was hurt on the job, but failed to go to the doctor for over 6 months and did not tell the doctor he was injured at work.
It is not enough to tell your work that you were injured, and then not seek immediate medical care.
The insurance company and ultimately the Judge will look at delay in medical treatment as meaning it is not related to the original accident.
If the treatment is not related, then no medical bills will be paid and a minimal amount will be paid for the original injury.
Do not follow the example of the lady who treats with her doctor shortly after her injury, and does not tell the doctor that she was injured at work or in a motor vehicle collision.
Insurance companies and Judges review medical records closely for histories explaining when, where and how the injuries occurred.
If you do not have medical records that note the details of the accident, then you will most likely lose your case.
Questions about how to maximize the value of your injury case? Feel free to contact Illinois Work Injury and Motor Vehicle Injury Attorney Dirk May at 309-827-4371.
Click above to read.
If the Bartender was in Illinois, she would be able to seek Workers’ Compensation benefits. It does not matter that a criminal caused the injuries or that armed robberies are not the norm. The bartender is still able to receive medical treatment, off work pay, and a settlement for any permanent injuries.
Too many people think that their injury is not bad and that they will not need to file either a work comp claim or injury claim against the insurance company.
The problem is that it is usually too late to change your mind if the injury becomes worse or there are costly medical tests or treatment required.
A few simple steps will protect any potential Illinois Workers’ Compensation claim or injury case you may have.
Report your injury immediately and make a written report.
Make copies of all your reports.
Go to the doctor right away.
Tell the doctor how the injury happened, where it happened, and all the body parts involved.
These straight forward, truthful actions will preserve any future claim you may have.
If your injury worsens, a written injury report at the time of the accident proves where it happened and what happened.
The doctor’s records are evidence of the need for medical treatment and what body parts were injured.
Many injury cases are lost at the initial stage of the accident.
Delay in reporting and seeking medical treatment gives the insurance company the opportunity to plant doubt in the Judge’s mind.
Protect your injury case. Feel free to contact Illinois Work Comp and Injury lawyer Dirk May at 309-827-4371.
In Illinois the Workers’ Compensation law sets forth specific benefits for injured workers.
The benefits include payment of related medical services and treatment.
This includes doctors’ visits, injections, prescriptions, physical therapy, surgery, MRIs and xrays.
It also includes payment for time missed from work.
If you miss 13 days or less of work, then the first three days are not paid.
Payment is based on your average weekly wage for the 52 weeks before you were injured.
You are paid 2/3 of this amount. There is no tax on these benefits.
You are also entitled to a settlement for your injury.
The settlement is based on a certain number of weeks times 60 percent of your average weekly wage.
The settlement amount is negotiated relative to the injury, the medical treatment, and the permanent restrictions.
Pain and suffering does not enter into the calculation.
If you are not receiving payment for being off work, or payment of your medical bills, or your settlement you need to contact an experienced Illinois Workers’ Compensation lawyer.
Questions about your work injury case? Feel free to contact Illinois Workers’ Compensation Attorney Dirk May at 309-827-4371.