When should you file for Social Security Disability or your Work injury case?
You should file for your Workers’ Compensation case right away.
This will put your employer on notice and they will not be able to argue that they did not have timely notice of the injury.
It also gets your time off work pay and medical benefits going.
Tell your doctors and other medical providers that you have filed for a work injury case so that all the records and bills will go to the work comp insurance company.
There is no good reason for delaying in filing the application of claim.
Talk to an experienced Illinois Workers’ Compensation Attorney to learn how to file an application of claim.
No fee is charged until you recover.
You may file for Social Security Disability as soon as you stop working full time.
If you delay it may reduce the benefits you receive from Social Security.
The filing process is done online.
This notifies Social Security that you have stopped working and are seeking the benefits you are entitled to under the law.
It also tells Social Security that they need to get all the medical records from all your providers.
An experienced Social Security Disability Attorney will help you file online.
No fee is charged until you recover back benefits.
Questions? Feel free to contact Illinois Work Comp and Social Security Disability Attorney Dirk May at 309-827-4371.
Illinois does pay a set amount for specific work injuries.
Instead Illinois leaves it up to the Arbitrator to decide what is the value of the injury.
The Illinois Workers’ Compensation Law, and the cases that have been resolved over the years guide how the injury is valued.
The average weekly wage has a big impact on how much you can recover.
Here are some examples.
Case 1. If you made $1000 a week and had a back injury that resulted in a disc herniation, but no surgery. The law says that you take 60 percent of your average weekly wage of $1000. That is $600. Disc herniations may pay from 7 to 10 percent of a person (500 total weeks for a back). The law says this is worth 35 weeks to 50 weeks. The value is between $21,000 to $30,000.
Case 2. Same wage, but a surgery is necessary to repair the disc herniation. This may result in a 15 percent rating. 75 weeks times $600 results in $45,000.
Case 3. The person only makes $500 a week. This cuts the figures in half. $10, 500 to $15,000 for disc herniation. Surgical back is only worth $22,500.
As you can see your wage makes a big difference in the settlement.
Surgery also increases the value.
Permanent restrictions will have a larger impact on value.
This simple example shows that the process is complicated.
Make sure that you get experienced help.
Feel free to contact Illinois Workers’ Compensation Lawyer Dirk May at 309-827-4371.
When you are injured in Illinois you can expect certain results or rights.
First of all you are entitled to medical benefits related to your injury.
This includes such things as doctor visits, physical therapy, medications, surgery, injections.
Second, you are entitled to off work pay when the doctor keeps you from working related to your work injury.
This includes two-thirds of your average weekly wage based on the 52 weeks before you were injured.
Finally, you are entitled to a settlement after you have been released from the doctor.
There is no set value for the settlement. It is based on your wage, the type of injury, and the type of treatment received.
Some insurance companies will “forget” to pay the settlement.
If your bills are not being paid, or your time off work is unpaid, or if the settlement has not been paid make sure to contact an experienced Illinois Workers’ Compensation lawyer.
Questions about your work injury and what the insurance company is doing? Feel free to contact Illinois Work Comp Attorney Dirk May at 309-827-4371.
There is no good reason to delay if you are injured in a motor vehicle collision, or a work accident, or you are disabled from work.
You should seek medical attention immediately.
You should follow medical advice and treatment plans.
You should file an accident report right away.
You should file a traffic report as soon as possible.
You should file for Social Security Disability as soon as you believe you will be unable to work for an extended time.
You should seek advice from an experienced injury or disability attorney to guide you.
These actions show that you were injured and injured severely.
These actions may prevent a Judge or insurance company from believing that some other event caused your current condition.
These actions will support your claim for damages and pain and suffering.
These actions will prevent you from losing potential benefits.
Remember that an injury lawyer and disability lawyer are only paid if you win so you are not out of pocket any upfront money.
Questions about your injury or disability case? Feel free to contact Illinois injury, work injury, and disability lawyer Dirk May at 309-827-4371.
The way attorneys charge for their services vary according to the type of case that is involved.
Some lawyers charge a certain amount per hour to work on your case. This is usually for business cases or criminal cases.
In these type of cases the lawyer may ask for an upfront retainer fee to start working on your case.
Fortunately in injury cases, workers’ compensation cases, and Social Security Disability cases there are no upfront fees and no hourly fees.
In these type of injury cases you only pay the lawyer if you win your case. The payment is due when you win and recover money.
This is very important for you because usually a person who is injured or when they are unable to work does not have the money to pay a lawyer on an hourly basis.
Many people do not know that they even have access to a lawyer when they are hurt and can no longer work.
Make sure that you take full advantage that a lawyer will work for free for you until you win.
You can utilize the attorney’s experience to protect your interests from the beginning of the case, and fight for you against the government and insurance companies.
Questions about using a lawyer to help you? Feel free to contact Illinois injury and disability Attorney Dirk May at 309-827-4371.